Streetspirits

Streetspirits

I’ve been taking fuzzy vague abstract street photos on and off for a few years now, and I have various ideas and techniques I’d like to try out. I’ve also been signed up to blipfoto, the one a day photo stream, for a while now but wasn’t sure what to post. I like the whole one a day journal concept, but I’m not much of a diarist.

So, since I’m looking to explore and experiment with taking abstract street images I’d thought I’d create a blip stream to document the process and provide me with a nudge to go out and take photos!

 

Many of the images will be abstract, taken with use of a strong ND filter allowing a long exposure. The long exposure blurs the location of the image, the people could be anywhere, on any city street. Not sure what people will make of these images, but I enjoy taking them. Its almost the opposite of standard photography technique where everything is precise and controlled before pressing the shutter button. With the fuzzy images, I shoot from the waist so framing is rough, the exposure and focus is manually preset so shooting is quick. Generally I’m thinking less about technique and more about whats going on around me. If nothing else its going to be a good way to free up my shooting!

~ by Alan Humphris on January 25, 2011.

 
